LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find

About

OER repositories and discovery sites help you find Open Educational Resources. These s repositories and sites provide access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by international community of educators, learners, advocators, and researchers.

Evaluate an OER

The Open Education Resource Repository (OERR) rubric created by BCOEL working group provides an excellent start for everyone whishing to use open educational resources (OER) to evaluate the quality of the OER collections available to them.
By evaluating the criteria below, you can determine whether an open educational resource will meet your needs or not:

Authority
Audience
Access and Diversity
User-friendliness
Subject Coverage
Search Functional and Browsing
Media Type
Licensing and Permissions

The Open Education Resource Repository (OERR) rubric (PDF) was developed by BCOEL

You may also use other rubrics to assess an OER, such as the three checklists created by Open Oregon Educational Resources which are designed for 3 user types, to evaluate individual course materials such as open textbooks.

OER Repositories & Discovery Sites

American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative
The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
Applied Math and Science Education Repository (AMSER)
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.
To have access to the tools available through the site you must register for a free account: To use https://amser.org/index.php?P=RequestAccount
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
eCampus Ontario
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 700 free and openly-licensed educational resources.
GALILEO
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
George Mason Libraries Open Education Resources
George Mason University is widely recognized as a leader in the creation, curation, and use of Open Educational Resources (OER) and the University Libraries are proudly at the vanguard of these efforts. The website provide a “one-stop-shop” for faculty interested in understanding the purpose of OER, finding and using OER, and help finding the resources to develop OER for teaching your classes on your own terms.
Humanities LiberTexts
This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.
IntechOpen Books
IntechOpen is the world's leading publisher of Open Access books built by scientists, for scientists. Read, share and download more than 5, 600 peer-reviewed Open Access books in various subjects such as Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities.
JSTOR Open Content
JSTOR Open Content provides open access to thousands of journal articles and academic ebooks from top scholarly publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press.
LearnChemE
LearnChemE features chemical engineering education resources prepared by faculty for use by students and instructors. The resources were produced by the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder.
Manitoba Open Textbook Initiative
Manitoba has teamed up with BCcampus to provide a seamless user experience. The collection can be searched by subject area, ancillaries, accessibility criteria, review and adoption status.
Merlot
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
OAPEN
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Oasis
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 113 different sources and contains 440,176 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OERcommons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources which helps you to explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
OpenBook Publishers
OpenBook Publishers publishes books in hardback, paperback and ebook editions, but it provides free online editions of every title in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read via the publisher's website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere.
OpenLearn Create
OpenLearn Create is an innovative leading open educational platform where individuals and organisations can publish their open content, open courses and resources. It is Moodle based and has tools for collaboration, reuse and remixing.
Open Research Library (ORL)
The Open Research Library (ORL) includes Open Access books covering various subjects, such as architecture, art, engineering and technology, business and economics, computers, law, and many more.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. As of March 2022, Open textbooks offers 1005 open textbooks.
Pressbooks Directory
This directory provides an index of 3,318 books published across 113 Pressbooks networks.